jump to navigation

Meet Me at the Lookout Point October 28, 2009

Posted by monty in Uncategorized.
Tags:
trackback

hate writing2

And here’s where I hit the lull.

I kept a near-daily blog for almost three years, and now I don’t know how I did it.  Once I started work on my Ph.D., a combination of being insanely busy and constantly exhausted stymied any serious attempt at starting the thing back up.  I’ve tried to resuscitate the blog in various forms for the last three years, but after a few weeks I find I run out of things to say.  When I was keeping a regular blog, I either had a more interesting life, or else I had a higher tolerance for writing about myself.

And there’s part of the problem.  Every time I start  a new blog (and this is at least the fourth iteration I can recall off the top of my head) I resolve for it not to be one of those annoying repositories where the author simply recounts his or her day.  For one thing, my life is just not that interesting.  But the main thing that the “Dear Diary” bloggers fail to acknowledge is the public nature of this little endeavor.  If all you want to do is keep a running account of the weeks that make up your life, buy a journal.  There are several people of whom I’m inordinately fond, but I’m not sure I’d want to read a blow-by-blow account of what they did each day, no matter how much I might genuinely like them.  Blogging is a pretty self-centered act to begin with, and making yourself the subject of your writing is even more solipsistic.  Unless you’re Anne Frank, your life is probably just not worth documenting.

So I try to keep things interesting by focusing my lens outward, examining education, politics, pop culture, etc. (And, for the record, I don’t pretend for a second to analyze any of those things especially well.  I do what I can, but it’s strictly Amateur Hour around here.)  When I do write about myself, I try to make sure it’s not really about me, but about what I’m experiencing.  Case in point: my dissection of race relations in Georgia. I mean, yeah, on the surface it’s about me getting acclimated to my new home, but it’s more about the veiled hostility around here that no one really talks about.  And in those rare instances when it really is all about me (such as in this post right here), I at least try to be entertaining.  I don’t always succeed, but at least I acknowledge that there’s a potentially disinterested audience I somehow need to snag.

All of this meta-blathering (Whoa, he’s blogging … about the difficulties of blogging!  That’s deep, maaaaan.) is really my way of saying that keeping things fresh around here is tough.  I used to just bitch about politics and the conservative media all the time, but seriously: how many different ways can you say Fox News sucks?  And I’m not sure it’s any more interesting for me to keep writing about authors or comedians or musicians I like.  It’s interesting to me, but it actually runs the risk of being just a variation on writing about my day.  But I’ll try to find a way to keep this site entertaining and interesting, despite my lazy inclination to throw in the towel yet again.

So, a mission statement, if you will.  I’ll keep pottering around on here simply because I think I need to force myself through the resistance I always feel right around this time.  But having said that – and noticing that my readership has been steadily increasing – do bear in mind that I write this for an audience, and I do spend a fair amount of time crafting these little missives for others’ consumption.  If you’ve taken the time to visit my little corner of the Web (and especially if you’re a regular visitor), comments are welcome and appreciated.  I try to respond to them as time allows, and I’m genuinely interested in hearing what people think.  A dialogue is much more interesting to me than a monologue, so don’t be shy.

*****

Current listening:

weezer 12x12cs3.indd

Weezer – Raditude

Comments»

1. Amanda - October 28, 2009

I find your blog interesting especially when you discuss the research your doing or you post the bits of writing your working on. Of course, I might request more pictures of the cats. There… comment successful!

rcm - October 28, 2009

Well, these are two things I’ve thought about doing more. I’m not sure what the interest level would be for them, though.

2. thoreauly77 - October 28, 2009

this is the reason why i average about two posts at psg a month. because one, i have an inclination to just write about what is bothering me, and two, i dont want to force it.

this is the same reason why i am not a prolific poet. i have to feel like writing that shit (and i do mean “shit”).

also interesting: you are listening to “raditude”? i heard that lil wayne song and i was totally nauseous. how is the whole thing? and why is it that cuomo keeps name dropping pop culture bits in his songs these days? i dont recall that on the first two records at all.

rcm - October 28, 2009

The new Weezer isn’t horrendous, but it’s just more of the pedestrian stuff they’ve been churning out since “Make Believe.” Some of it is catchy, some of it is stupid – taken as a whole, it’s just average. By now I think it’s pretty clear that Rivers basically shot his wad on their first two albums.


Leave a Reply

